Historically Overberg

Historically Overberg Overberg Overberg Overberg
Historically Overberg Overberg Overberg Overberg

The history of the Overberg is a rich and diverse one often documented in journals and showcased in museums across the region, including the only apple museum in the world located in the Elgin Valley, Grabouw.

The Overberg region was discovered as early as 1663 in South Africa’s history by pioneers transporting ox wagons over the Hottentot Mountains.  The word “overberg” translates to “the other side of the mountain”.  These explorers mapped out the Overberg attaching Dutch names to the rivers and mountains of which some of the names remain in use today.

The first colony of Europeans were established along the Zonder End River, which after 1720 saw an influx of newcomers.  They discovered not only well-watered grazing lands for cattle and sheep and fertile soils, but also forests dense with prime timber.

Some interesting museums to view which tells various stories of how the Overberg developed:

  • Bredasdorp Shipwreck Museum - Bredasdorp
  • Caledon Museum - Caledon
  • Strandveld Museum - Gansbaai
  • Cape Agulhas Lighthouse - Cape Agulhas
  • Elgin Apple Museum - Grabouw
  • De Wet's Huis Photo Museum - Hermanus
  • Genadendal Mission Museum – Genadendal, just outside of Greyton

The Overberg continues to grow today with the region being a tourism paradise.

Article by Lauren Pywell

Historically Overberg Overberg Overberg